Oh Linux…

I’m trying Linux on my work machine again, and it’s been fine for about 2 weeks. I’ve just arrived at the very problem that made me switch back to Windows the last time… lack of any decent SVN clients. There simply isn’t anything that is as quick and friendly as TortoiseSVN, and it looks like I may have to resort to the shell if I want to carry on using Linux for development.

Suckage.

It also doesn’t help that Linux doesn’t have a system wide way of addressing network shares (like UNC paths on Windows). I know Gnome lets you say things like ‘smb://myserver/myshare’, but it requires application support. And yes, I know that I can mount SMB shares directly into the filesystem, but this has it’s own problems.

Leave a Reply

